Dear Web Development

Dear Web Development

Dear Web Development, you’ve taught me life skills, problem solving skills, and creative thinking.

I have always been passionate about technology, I remember playing games on my laptop as a teenager, I love car racing games the most, my love for tech grew stronger when I started using the internet frequently, everyday I’d come back from school and google answers to my assignments on my Sony Ericson K700i, I have always wondered how people created such a vast and resourceful platform, how I could get answers to all my physics, economics, chemistry, biology assignments and other educational materials all from a tiny handheld device. All of these made me very curious and promised myself that I was also going to learn how to create things that would serve purpose to others. I didn’t know where to start, or the skills necessary to start, but I believed my passion to help me navigate the obstacles, I believed when the time comes I’d figure it all out.

2 years ago I started my web development journey, I started learning how to develop a website with WordPress, it was confusing and tough to start, there were many technologies and tools to get familiar with, but I kept pushing, after I built my first WordPress website, I was amazed and wanted to do more, so I enrolled for a web development class and started learning front-end web development (HTML CSS & JavaScript), it was fun, I leaned at a fast pace ( never underestimate what passion can do), after learning frontend web development for 3 months I proceeded to backend development (PHP & SQL), backend was tough at first but you can always achieve whatever you put your mind to. Every day I strive to be better, and stay committed to lifelong learning. It’s my passion that molded me into the ‘nerd’ that I am today and always will be.

I'm not where I want to be in my career, but I'm not where I used to be. My tech career has taken me places I never believed I could have gotten to, has earned me respect of people I looked up to. Being a web developer has given me access to platforms and people who have played a vital role in my career growth, I’m glad to be a part of the tech scene, even though it’s crazy and exhilarating I couldn’t see myself in another career path, I am happy I chosed this career path, being a web developer is a dream come true for me.

What’s next? I plan to keep learning and write codes till my 60’s, I’ll ride coding till the wheels fall off.